“Rip” Forthcoming in “Vignettes From the End of the World”

crime-64067_640 (2)It’s a better day now, thanks to a story acceptance. Apokrupha’s taking my 499-word flash, “Rip”, for their Vignettes from the End of the World anthology. I wrote the story in response to their submission call, so I’m happy they’re buying it.

This is my second sale to Apokrupha. My flash “Shroud” is in their Dark Bits anthology, available as an eBook, paperback, hardcover and as a weekly date book with a flash for each week.

Apokrupha also publishes LampLight, a quarterly magazine of dark fiction which features a diverse array of quiet horror. The second issue of Volume 2 came out last fall. Check out the Apokrupha website. You can get a free issue of LampLight. That’s how I got hooked. Yeah, the first one’s free…. heh heh heh.

Take the time to look at what Apokrupha’s doing if you want to submit here. Their anthologies each have a distinctive flavor, and LampLight excludes a few overused horror characters. As always, read the guidelines and the magazine before submitting to save your time and theirs.

For lengthier chills, you may need a copy of their collection, Four Sleepless Nights, novellas by Gerald C. Matics, Michele Mixell, G. N. Braun, and William Meikle.

Their Fur & Fang monster sex anthology came out while I wasn’t looking. My psyche didn’t cough up a story before the deadline on that one, yet reading that submission call probably resulted in a nastier story for Vignettes From the End of the World than I might otherwise have written. It’s a nasty apocalypse. I could blame or credit early exposure to horror comics, many years of savoring Heavy Metal magazine, and no doubt my own dirty mind for the results. I hope some of you will check it out and like it.

Update: Proofs arrived from Apokrupha for Vignettes. I’ll announce when the anthology comes out.

I write speculative fiction, science fiction, horror, fantasy, cross-genre, unclassified, non-fiction, scripts, poetry and dreams. I'm branching out into multimedia projects. My Vampire Madam series is available on Amazon. The first episode is Animals of London. My work has appeared in anthologies, literary journals, newspapers and on websites under a trio of pen names. I made my first sale to the Pan Book of Horror: Dark Voices series.

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Writing
4 comments on ““Rip” Forthcoming in “Vignettes From the End of the World”
  1. Bat Hughes says:

    Congrats to you, too. Thanks for letting me know. I look forward to reading your flash in “Vignettes From the End of the World.”

    Like

  2. Joey Corpora says:

    Congrats! One of my short stories will also be in Vignettes from The End of the World as well

    Like

  3. Joseph Pinto says:

    Great news! Congrats, my friend! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

Hughes Enterprise

Entrancing Books for Readers

Platypus Underground

Entertainment ReVamped

Christine Rose

Mochas, Mediocrity, & Misanthropic Madness

Platypus Underground

A multi-media production company

a writer's vanity

Website of Jason B. Sizemore, Hugo and Stoker Award-nominated Publisher, Editor, and Author

Horror Reviews for You

The Best and Worst of Horror Novels

Alraune

The Horror Classic by Hanns Heinz Ewers translated by Joe E. Bandel

All that withers

Official website for Bram Stoker Award® winning Author John Palisano

GriffinWords

Fiction and Reviews by Michael Griffin

Tananarive Due Writes

Writing journal of author Tananarive Due

intense sensations

Independent reviews of exciting writing

Jan Moran's Smart & Stylish: Ideas to enrich your lifestyle

Advice for the Good Life. Books, travel, entrepreneurship, beauty.

Adam Santo

Author Blogs from the Temperature Series.

Dark Whispers

The Official Blog of the Horror Writers Association

Sharkbait Writes

Pursue your dreams... and never look back.

lisamasontheauthor

Lisa Mason, Fantasy and Science Fiction Author

