‘Secret Forest’ Gay Horror Hot New Release on Amazon

This new horror story came out of a productive and challenging time when I put myself through short story boot camp and taught myself to write fiction on demand. The original version was about 2,500 words, much less explicit, and I titled it “In the Garden of Secrets.” Returning to the story after a year, I saw how to expand and complete it, so I did.

As of today, Secret Forest is ranking as #5 on Amazon’s list of bestselling LGBT Horror ebooks, one line down from three of Anne Rice’s novels. I studied with her husband, the poet and painter Stan Rice at San Francisco State in the MFA program. I met her at one of his readings and I’ve read most of her books — not only the vampire ones. So, even though it’s a small thing, I’m getting a major kick being on the same page as The Queen of the Damned, The Vampire Lestat and The Vampire Armand.

If you look at this list while my book is new enough and popular enough to rank, you’ll see it on the right sidebar on the top row. There’s a link to the bestseller list below, above my book cover.

Back to the Beginning

Years of copywriting and other unsuitable gigs have often eclipsed my fiction, which I have to write. It never leaves me alone, even when it’s harmful to other work that covers expenses. It’s my most expensive and time-consuming habit but I’m unable to stop.

I read Peter Straub’s anthology Poe’s Children last April and wrote a new story nearly every day that month. It was the most short fiction I’d written in years. I ended up with 28 stories ranging from flash to full length. Many of them were horror and a few were science fiction or fantasy. The original version of this new ebook was in that batch.

For awhile it seemed like all those stories and the novels from those rocky years would stay on my computers, knocking around with me from place to place, but I decided to take another shot at the self-publishing adventure. Although having my story featured on the Amazon gay horror list wasn’t the result of a great number of sales, it was encouraging.

The Lure of Horror — or, I’m Addicted

One type of horror that compels me the most as a reader is firmly grounded in reality with supernatural elements creeping in. I’m also partial to the kind of horror that comes from a character’s mind. And to tales where it’s difficult to tell whether the evil is an outside force or the edge of madness.

No matter how many other things I have to do in life to survive, I always come back to horror. Fine editors including Straub and Ellen Datlow give me hope for the genre’s future.

I flinched while writing this post’s headline. The self-promotion aspect of being a writer doesn’t come easily. Yet seeing Secret Forest live was a happy thing, and seeing it featured as an Amazon hot new release in gay horror made my day. Who am I going to tell, if not for you?

Secret Forest 6http://www.amazon.com/Secret-Forest-Fantasy-Cowboy-Secrets-ebook/dp/B00WW0E0H0

At the center of the charred structures, the timbers held strong on a massive piece that reached into the trees. Rungs mounted it to a platform with a trapdoor hanging open at its center. A noose swayed above it.

Please Note: Secret Forest is rated 18+ for language, sexual content and mature themes.

I write speculative fiction, science fiction, horror, fantasy, cross-genre, unclassified, non-fiction, scripts, poetry and dreams. I'm branching out into multimedia projects. My Vampire Madam series is available on Amazon. The first episode is Animals of London. My work has appeared in anthologies, literary journals, newspapers and on websites under a trio of pen names. I made my first sale to the Pan Book of Horror: Dark Voices series.

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
Posted in Horror

Leave a Reply

Hughes Enterprise

Entrancing Books for Readers

Platypus Underground

Entertainment ReVamped

Christine Rose

Mochas, Mediocrity, & Misanthropic Madness

Platypus Underground

A multi-media production company

a writer's vanity

Website of Jason B. Sizemore, Hugo and Stoker Award-nominated Publisher, Editor, and Author

Horror Reviews for You

The Best and Worst of Horror Novels

Alraune

The Horror Classic by Hanns Heinz Ewers translated by Joe E. Bandel

All that withers

Official website for Bram Stoker Award® winning Author John Palisano

GriffinWords

Fiction and Reviews by Michael Griffin

Tananarive Due Writes

Writing journal of author Tananarive Due

intense sensations

Independent reviews of exciting writing

Jan Moran's Smart & Stylish: Ideas to enrich your lifestyle

Advice for the Good Life. Books, travel, entrepreneurship, beauty.

Adam Santo

Author Blogs from the Temperature Series.

Dark Whispers

The Official Blog of the Horror Writers Association

Sharkbait Writes

Pursue your dreams... and never look back.

lisamasontheauthor

Lisa Mason, Fantasy and Science Fiction Author

